When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years. – Mark Twain

Father's Day

This Father’s Day, the JustGive team is sharing stories about our Dads and the ways we can honor what they’ve taught us.

“Weekends with Dad meant being outdoors—road trips to Yosemite, hiking through local waterfalls or riding motorcycles in the desert. He inspired my love of travel, nature, and conservation. We put the saying ‘take nothing but memories, leave nothing but footprints’ into action. A Gift Collection that supports four environmental charities is a great way to thank my Dad and preserve the great outdoors for future memories.” – Sarah, Program Manager

“My Dad had a big heart. He was a crew cut, salt of the Earth, no-nonsense farmer and blacksmith who worked hard to provide for us. He gave of his time fighting fires in our community and became the Chief of Wanatah’s Volunteer Fire Department before he died. In his memory and to help my hometown, I started a recurring online donation to the fire department. For all my Dad was, what he gave to our town and what he taught me by his example, it’s one of the best ways I know to honor him.” – Candy, Marketing Consultant

“Whenever my bike broke (or later my car), he would always be willing to fix it, but we’d have to help him. We couldn’t go do something else. We had to get the wrench or screwdriver and listen to him moan about ‘if you want something done right, you need to do it yourself. For Father’s Day I make a gift to Big Brothers and Big Sisters because not everyone has a mentor like my dad.’”– Andrea, Director of Programs

Supporting charities that provide mentoring and enrichment to children carries that lesson forward. And a $10 gift allows Boys & Girls Clubs of America to reach out to kids who cannot afford community programs.

“For the last few Father’s Days, we have celebrated my dad who died four years ago. Typically this is done with champagne and an elaborate meal because he would have wanted it that way. My dad was big time into gadgets and culinary extravagance. While he got great pleasure from splurging in this fashion, he also was one of the most generous people I knew—adopting surrogate relatives right and left, showering them with the same enthusiasm. In this spirit, I have sought my own means for helping others—more in a volunteer capacity than a gift-giving one.

This Father’s Day is the first for my husband, since we welcomed our first child this March. So we will have a new way to celebrate and new traditions to establish.” – Marina, Design and Production Manager

A $50 donation to Foster Care Support Foundation in memory of her Dad’s generosity towards others will buy an entire wardrobe for an elementary foster child. Volunteering locally is simply a matter of getting in contact with organizations in the area. From feeding the homeless to planting trees, find ways to make a difference in your community at Volunteer Match.

“My Dad and I live in different states, so we’ll be celebrating over the phone. He has always been supportive of me, no matter what. One meaningful lesson that my dad taught me is to always be true to myself. He encouraged me to challenge the status quo, and to not worry about what others thought. He also taught me about compassion and helping others, which influenced my choice to work for a non-profit and give back to the community. My dad has been a case manager working with the elderly and disabled population for over 20 years, and he has always been very dedicated to his work. He showed me that a job is not just about money, it can be so much more.” – Kelly, Customer Service Manager

A GiveNow Charity Gift Card lets Kelly’s Dad (or any Dad) choose from nearly 1.5 million charities and support the cause that he cares about most.

For Fathers everywhere—On your special day, we celebrate, thank and honor you!

Leave a comment